Cambois Rowing Club has a long and distinguished history. Founded on the River Blyth in 1911, the club moved to the lower reaches of the River Wansbeck in 1977 where members now regularly operate from a modern boathouse complete with both water and land training facilities. Find out more about the history of the club…
Although its junior crews have enjoyed much success at national level over recent years and its veteran crews have returned with medals from international championships, the main theme of the club is the enjoyment of rowing by a wide section of the community.
The lower Wansbeck, especially between the Stakeford and Sheepwash bridges is both picturesque and uniquely well-suited for teaching the skills of rowing and sculling; an excellent riverside cycleway allows coaches to watch and advise their crews. Also, the friendly atmosphere of the club means that a crew of experienced lifelong rowers has often been prepared to include a few complete novices in order to introduce newcomers to the delights of rowing in a racing boat.
The club are always looking to recruit more members to this friendly and welcoming club, be sure to keep an eye out on the website for the Learn to Row Sessions that we hold during the year for both Junior and Senior members where we offer you the chance to try rowing and to find out the joy of being on the water.
Our boat fleet includes boats for all abilities and crew sizes from Eight’s to Singles,. Club members meet to row on on times set out in the membership and training times page.We also host regular events at the rowing club and are well known in the rowing community for our well run events, welcoming vibe and incredible cakes!
|Vice Captain||Sarah Sprawling|
|Safety Officers||Shaun Mullen|
|Welfare Officer||Alizon Carr (covering for maternity leave)|
|Regatta Secretary||Helen Carr|
|Junior Reps||Mia Rouse & Millie Callaghan|